FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

J B Volatility Profit taker

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message / View First Unread Post
jazza View Drop Down
Regular
Regular

Post Options Post Options   Quote jazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: J B Volatility Profit taker
    Posted: 10 Aug 2007 at 11:34pm
Hi all,

I am fairly new to Bullcharts and technical analysis.

I am interested in the Jim Berg entry and exit indicator that comes as a standard template toolbar with Bullcharts. I am especially interested in the breakdown of the formula. I have cut and pasted the entry bullscript formula as:  cross(C,(llv(L,20)+2*atr(10)));

My problem is deciphering the bullscript.

I am assuming that it is something to do with the relation of recent Volume, Price lows and average true range.

If anyone can decipher the bullscript for me it would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Jazza

blackdog View Drop Down
Regular
Regular

Post Options Post Options   Quote blackdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 1:47pm
Jazza,

You can find more information on bullscript in the help files, but briefly,

llv(L,20) is lowest LOW price Value in last 20 bars.
ATR(10) is average true range for the last 10 bars
cross(C,X) is true when Close price is higher than X for the current bar but not on the previous bar.

jazza View Drop Down
Regular
Regular

Post Options Post Options   Quote jazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 10:33pm
Thanks blackdog,

Still a bit confused as to why the JB entry appears when it does, ie sometimes on a price dip, sometimes on a rise. Sometimes working sometimes stopping out all the time. A bit like a stopped watch that is right twice a day!

A bit harsh because it seems like quite a good entry indicator.

If you have any other info on the JB reasoning it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Jazza
TheFerret View Drop Down